Click here to return to District Digest home page.
Plano ISD Staff Newsletter Volume 43, Number 2 October 29, 2015

Plano ISD Teachers of the Year Lilli Wisler and Jennifer Denton Featured in New District Videos

2015 Teachers of the Year Lilli Wisler and Jennifer Denton are the subjects of two new feature videos produced by the communications department. Lilli serves as fifth grade team leader and academic specialist at Barron Elementary School. Jennifer is a dyslexia therapist and academic specialist at Wilson Middle School. Both of these award-winning educators have dedicated their lives to helping students succeed. "What could be a better job than being in an elementary school every day?," Lilli asks. Jennifer says, "Many students come to school with a fear of not learning at the same rate as their peers. When students enter my classroom, the first thing that I tell them is, 'You're safe.'" Watch Lilli's video video and Jennifer's video video on the district's 2015 Teacher of the Year playlist on YouTube.

logo teachers

United Way campaign huge success thanks to employees' generosity

United Way agencies will benefit from more than $125,500 raised during the school district's United Way campaign, helping to ensure that critical services are available to individuals and families in need of assistance in North Texas. Once again the district exceeded its goal, thanks to the generosity and community spirit of 3,025 Plano ISD employees. Read a list of campus and service department goal busters in this newsletter. read

Teachers share with school board ways they integrate technology

Teacher leaders shared with the school board on October 6 how they are building capacity with technology integration. The educators, who attended Plano ISD's Education Technology Summer Institute (ETSI), shared their experiences and campus plans with the school board. Teachers who presented to trustees are Laura Blankenship, Eric McDaniels, Ayanna Black, Fern Johnson and Cheryl Lazarus. read

Around the district

havard way
Dr. Janice Havard, retired Plano ISD educator, paved the way in 1974 for Weatherford Elementary. To honor her leadership, local officials and current and former faculty held a ceremony on October 6 at the school to dedicate the new "Havard Way." read
huffman pta
Huffman Elementary School PTA was recognized on October 6 by the school board for capturing the title of National PTA School of Excellence for 2015 through 2017. Pictured are a student, PTA President Kimberly DeWeese and Principal Toni Strickland. read
1965 homecoming
The 1965 Plano High School state champs celebrated their 50th anniversary on October 16 during a tailgate party hosted by the Plano ISD Alumni Association and a special ceremony held prior to the Plano Senior High School homecoming game. Photo gallery
Click here to read notable notes
Click here to read board briefs
Upcoming Events
10/26 National Red Ribbon Week
11/5 End of 2nd Six Weeks
11/16 American Education Week
View full calendaropens in new window
TI Innovations in STEM Teaching award winners honored at reception

The Texas Instruments (TI) Foundation presented its Innovations in STEM Teaching Awards to 18 area teachers, including three teachers from Plano ISD, during a ceremony held last month at TI’s Dallas headquarters. Honored from Plano ISD were educators David Carroll, Plano West Senior High School; Eric McDaniels, Frankford Middle School; and Nona Gill, Shepton High School.

The awards program honors local secondary math and science teachers who consistently demonstrate quality instruction and build student achievement in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) subjects.

Each honoree received a $10,000 award, of which $5,000 was directly awarded to the teacher. The other $5,000 is to be used at his or her discretion for professional development or instructional technology. The grants are awarded through the independent foundations that support each district, including the Plano ISD Education Foundation. read

Did You Know...

2015 Plano Independent School District

Contact Us
Phone: 469-752-8030
Facebook | Twitter