



## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Lesley Range-Stanton, Executive Director for Communications Plano Independent School District (o) 469.752.8094 | (m) 469.360.7552 lesley.range-stanton@pisd.edu

**AUGUST 29, 2014** 

## Harvey Fishero to Lead Plano ISD Education Foundation as 2014-15 President

Harvey Fishero, who served as board president elect and vice president of development of the Plano ISD Education Foundation during the 2013-14 school year, has taken on the role of board president of the Foundation for the 2014-15 school year.

As a nonprofit organization, the Plano ISD Education Foundation works to generate private support for priority projects identified by Plano ISD for which tax dollars are not available. The mission of the organization is helping all students in Plano public schools achieve their full potential by providing financial support to educators and academic programs. All contributions to the Foundation remain within the school district.

"Harvey's participation and contributions over the past years have been vital to the Foundation's growth," said Rebecca Egelston Caso, immediate past president of the Foundation. "I am confident that with his expertise, enthusiasm and leadership our organization will continue to broaden its support of the district."

Mr. Fishero was first introduced to the Foundation while he was CEO of Medical Center of Plano. As the Medical Center began supporting the Foundation in some of its activities, he developed a passion for what the Foundation was accomplishing and how it was helping children and classroom teachers. In 2008, Mr. Fishero retired from Medical Center of Plano. He joined the Education Foundation board in 2009.

"Really good teachers impact lives. Few professions can claim that noble calling. I want to do whatever I can to help them," Mr. Fishero said. "Also, working with the Foundation gives me the opportunity to meet and work with enlightened, generous CEOs of companies who want to do what they can to help cover some of the program costs that state funding doesn't include."

This year's Foundation goals include expansion of its donor base by engaging small business, corporations, individuals and foundations, as well as the establishment and inauguration of the Plano ISD Education Foundation endowment to increase the awareness of planned giving for the Foundation.

Administration Building 2700 W. 15th Street Plano, Texas 75075-7543 (469)752-8100 www.pisd.edu An Equal Opportunity Employer

"Harvey has been a valuable member of the Foundation board for several years and we are pleased he is committing to this leadership role," said Carlos Sastoque, Foundation executive director. "The Foundation and Plano ISD are very fortunate to have such dedicated community volunteers and business partners supporting Plano schools."

Mr. Fishero said, "Programs the Foundation helps to fund, such as AVID, Family Literacy, STEM, Grants to Educators and recruitment and retention of great teachers help to make the classroom a more effective, productive environment in which teachers can fulfill their professional calling. I hope to see more and more members of our community come to understand what the Foundation does, and will choose to join with us to help accomplish our mission for the classrooms of Plano ISD."

Many Plano ISD teachers will recognize Mr. Fishero from his years of participation on the Teacher of the Year selection committee. He is deeply involved in the community and is also chairman of the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council Education and Research Foundation Board. He has earned many personal and professional achievements, such as Collin County Business Journal's 21 for the 21<sup>st</sup> Century and being in Leadership Plano, Class XIV. Mr. Fishero is a Life Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives, Adjunct Faculty with the Department of Health Care Administration of Trinity University and LeadersSUMMIT. He is a past chairman of the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council Board and a member of the Trinity University Healthcare Alumni Association.

## 2014-15 Foundation Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of business and community leaders who work to maintain excellence in the Plano schools. In addition to President Harvey Fishero, the 2014-15 officers are: Jaime Beringer, Board VP of Development and Board President Elect, Jean Callison, Secretary, David Doyle, Treasurer, and Rebecca Egelston Caso, Immediate Past President.

Foundation Directors for 2014-15 school year are: Chris Bragg, Mitch Bramlett, Joseph C. Brown, Sherry Cassidy, Melissa Chung, Rodney Davenport, Mary Jo Dean, Joe Dwyer, Marshall Jackson, Babita Jain, Marshall V. Johnson, Jim McGee, Amy Medford, Angela Miner, Joa Muns, Kelly Palmer, Raj Rao, Lisa Raskin, Kendall Richards, Jan Rugg, Kathy Schell, Kandi Sigona, Sheri Steele, Mike Van de Ven and Beth Webb.

Ex-Officio members include: Carlos Sastoque, executive director, Richard Matkin, Plano ISD superintendent of schools, Missy Bender, Plano ISD Board of Trustees representative and Amy Nelson, Plano Council of PTAs representative. The Foundation Board of Honor includes the Late Jim Boswell, Sharon Goldblatt, Rutledge Haggard, Rebecca Morris, Joan Slater and John Wroten.

## **About the Plano ISD Education Foundation**

The Plano ISD Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization with the mission to help all students in Plano public schools achieve their full potential by providing financial

support to educators and academic programs. The Foundation provides grants to educators, programs that support academic enrichment to Plano ISD students, emergency assistance for teachers and staff members in crisis, as well as programs aimed at recruiting and retaining quality teachers.

The Plano Independent School District continues to work closely with the Plano ISD Education Foundation to ensure academic success of all Plano ISD students. For further information or to make a donation, visit the Plano ISD Web site at <a href="https://www.pisdeducationfoundation.org">www.pisdeducationfoundation.org</a> or contact Executive Director Carlos Sastoque at 469.752.8272.

###