• "30 Years Strong" Plano ISD Honors Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

    January 19, 2017

  • Quotes
    "With hard work, vison and incredible dedication Dr. Hightower and her committee provide this annual tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr as a reminder and celebration of the pride we have in the diversity of our school community."

    - Dr. Brian Binggeli, Superintendent of Schools

    "Plano ISD has had the opportunity to enjoy 30 years of wonderful speakers, thoughtful student writings, amazing artwork, magnificent musical performances and much more at this annual event that was born from the vision and passion of Dr. Myrtle Hightower."

    - Erika Manning, Plano ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year

    "As many of you may know, this wonderful event came to life as a result of the efforts of Dr. Myrtle Hightower when she was working as a counselor here at Williams High School. Her dedication to this district and to our community has produced this truly inspiring event we all look forward to each year."

    - Bryan Yee, Plano ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year

  • Student Artwork and Performances Strengthen Plano ISD MLK Tribute

    Plano ISD's annual tribute celebrating the vision of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., was held the evening of January 19 at Williams High School. The event featured the theme "30 Years Strong" and showcased student talent through musical performances, student writing, artwork and awards presentations.

    Opening Events
    Pre-program entertainment was provided by the Haggard Middle School Wind Ensemble directed by David Fortenberry. Original student art work was on showcased in an "art walk" and art teachers were on hand to help families take part in an interactive weaving activity.

    The Williams High School Panther Battalion Color Guard, under the direction of Sergeant Major - CMS (Retired) Michael Franklin, posted colors. The student cadets:

    Commander: Cadet First Sergeant Alvern Dyer;
    American Guard: Cadet Sergeant Wesley Archambeault  
    American Flag Bearer: Cadet Staff Sergeant Gabriel Whitmire
    Texas Flag Bearer: Cadet Master Sergeant Emily  Castrejon
    Texas Guard: Cadet Staff Sergeant Pedro Escalante
    The welcoming remarks were given by Teachers of the Year Erika Manning and Bryan Yee. Dr. Myrtle Hightower, Chairman Emeritus of the Plano ISD MLK Event welcomed guests with her video remarks.

  • Student Writing Winners
    MLK Essay Contest winners read their award winning original letters to Dr. King throughout the MLK Tribute event.

    Read their award winning essays.

    • Grant Henricksen, Hickey Elementary
    • Paul Mansur, Brinker Elementary
    • Laurie Spitz, Hightower Elementary
    • Matthew Manning, Weatherford Elementary
    • Zoey Forsvall, Hughston Elementary
    • Leydi Arreola, Sigler Elementary School
    • Dhanya Casavaraju, Brinker Elementary School
    • Gavin Tran, Brinker Elementary
  • Art Contest Awards

    Recognition of the first place art award winners in each of four categories was provided by Board President Nancy Humphrey. The contest was sponsored by the Plano ISD Education Foundation.

  • Diversity Leadership Awards

    These awards are coordinated annually by the Plano ISD Diversity Advisory Committee to recognize students, staff and community members who have shown leadership and commitment in fostering and promoting harmony, respect, acceptance and understanding among the diverse cultures within our community. Nominees and winners of Plano ISD Diversity Leadership Awards were announced by Zan Breithmoore, Plano ISD diversity advisory committee chairman and Autry Daniel, Plano ISD assistant director, employee recruitment and retention with help from Head Start students via video.

  • Dr. Victor Nixon, Plano West Senior High School Assistant Principal Community Impact Award Winner

  • Theresa Biggs, Plano ISD Advanced Academics Community Impact Award Winner

  • Lamplifters, Wilson Middle School Group Diversity Leadership Award

  • Glenda Rouse, Armstrong Middle School Special Education Individual Diversity Leadership Award

  • Mission Possible Kids, Harrington Elementary School Diversity Leadership Service Award

  • Additional Nominees

  • Musical and Dance Selections

  • Patriotic Fanfare

  • Star Spangled Banner

  • The Storm Is Passing Over

  • I Have a Dream

  • Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue

  • Washington Past March

  • Committee Members