Return to Headlines

Nov. 10, 2017 - Plano ISD Teams Earn "Top 64" in International Public Policy Forum Competition


On November 6, 2017, the Brewer Foundation and New York University announced the “Top 64” teams for the 17th annual International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) - the only contest that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy. The IPPF received essays from teams in 17 countries and 30 U.S. states.  

The “Top 64” teams will now compete in a single-elimination, written debate tournament. Teams will continue to debate the topic, “Resolved: International climate accords for greenhouse gas emissions should adopt binding enforcement mechanisms.” Essays will be volleyed back and forth via e-mail and judges will select the advancing teams. This format continues until the final eight teams emerge. Those teams earn an all-expenses-paid trip to New York City to compete in the IPPF Finals on April 21, 2018. The IPPF Champion takes home a $10,000 grand prize! More information about this competition can be found at

Congratulations to these Plano ISD advancing teams.

Clark High School

  • Vivian Zhao
  • Sean Patel
  • Aishni Shrivastava
  • Ritvik Mahendra

Jasper High School (Team 1)

  • Angela Wang
  • Pranav Nathan
  • Pranav Pattathunaduvil
  • Angela Yi
  • Alyssa Nie
  • Renee Li
  • Lillian Ye

Jasper High School (Team 2)

  • Benjamin Ai
  • Nihar Annam
  • Nevin Gera
  • Daniel Liang
  • Sharan Tatineni
  • Brandon Wang
  • Yingjie Wang

Plano West Senior High School

  • Ashwin Desai
  • Pranay Dhondi
  • Joy Fan
  • Pranay Gundam
  • Anthony Jiang
  • Jennifer Lin
  • Ranie Lin
  • Christina Lu
  • Jacob Mammen
  • Noah Ogata
  • Viswa Raj
  • Mukund Rao
  • Jacqueline Wei
  • Carlyn Yang
  • Jerry Yang
  • Michelle Zhang