Return to Headlines

Feb. 5, 2018 - Congratulations District Spelling Bee Winners

Update, February 6, 2018

The district spelling bee winners attended the February 6 meeting of the Board of Trustees as greeters and lead the Pledge of Pledge of Allegiance and received certificates of recognition from the board.

District spelling bee champions with the board of trustees


The district competition was held at the Plano ISD Administration Center on February 1 for elementary and middle school students. Congratulations to our district spelling bee winners. Pictured with the Board of Trustees and Interim Superintendent Sara Bonser is: Meghna Penumudi, Rice Middle School; Harini Venkatesh, Andrews Elementary; Shreya Sudhakar, Gulledge Elementary; Arquish Frahim, Schell Elementary and Srikar Yang; Schimelpfenig Middle School.(Not pictured is Satvik Mahendra, Rice Middle School).

February 2, 2018 

The district competition was held on February 2 for elementary and middle school students at the Plano ISD Administration Center. Congratulations to our six district spelling bee winners from elementary and middle schools.

Middle School

  • Satvik Mahendra, Rice Middle School, seventh grade
  • Meghna Penumudi, Rice Middle School, sixth grade (district winner in 2017)
  • Srikar Yang, Schimelpfenig Middle School, eighth grade

District Middle School Spelling Bee Winners

Srikar Yang, Meghna Penumudi, Satvik Mahendra.

Elementary School

  • Arquish Frahim, Schell Elementary, fourth grade 
  • Shreya Sudhakar, Gulledge Elementary, fifth grade
  • Harini Venkatesh, Andrews Elementary, fourth grade

Three elementary spelling bee winners

Harini Venkatesh, Arquish Frahim and Shreya Sudhakar.

These six students will now compete in the Collin County Spelling Bee. Plano ISD is hosting the county bee for 2018 on Thursday, February 8, at Plano West Senior High School.