Return to Headlines

Oct. 9, 2018 - Boggess Elementary PTA - 2018-20 National PTA School of Excellence / Phoebe Apperson Hearst Family School Partnership Award

Boggess Elementary School PTA has been designated as a National PTA 2018-2020 School of Excellence in honor of their commitment to building an inclusive and welcoming school-community. National PTA School of Excellence is a recognition program that supports and celebrates partnerships between PTAs and schools to enrich the educational experience and overall well-being for all students. 

Support your local school PTA by becoming a member

Additionally, Boggess Elementary PTA has also been awarded the 2018 National PTA Phoebe Apperson Hearst Family School Partnership Award of Merit for innovation in family engagement and for demonstrating outstanding success in engaging families in student success and school improvements. The award is the highest family engagement honor National PTA presents. Boggess Elementary is one of only three school in the nation to receive this award during 2018 and received a $500 grant for the school as part of the honor.

Boggess Elementary worked with their ESL staff to identify the languages used in the homes of their students and crafted communications through multiple channels while highlighting the translation services available from the school and district. Boggess PTA hopes to continue to explore ways to help non-English speaking parents and families feel comfortable and welcomed at school.

Boggess PTA officers and school staff with poster Proud to be a National PTA School of Excellence

Front row: Jamie Heise (current Boggess PTA president), Kathryn Fix, Nicole Hawkins, Liz Parr, Anna Moody, Ross Cornell (immediate past Boggess PTA president) and back row: Mary Jeanne Higbee (Boggess office manager), Tina Wynn, Jaime Brown, Mariah Lucas, Akilah George and Edie Dewoody (Boggess secretary)

The Phoebe Apperson Hearst Family School Partnership Award is named after National PTA co-founder Phoebe Apperson Hearst. The award recognizes and celebrates achievement in building effective family-school partnerships.

Plano ISD PTAs who Have Earned National PTA School of Excellence Designation

  • Boggess Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Bettye Haun Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Gulledge Elementary School, 2017-2019
  • Hickey Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Huffman Elementary School, 2017-2019 and 2015-2017
  • Hughston Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Mitchell Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Pearson Early Childhood School 2018-2020
  • Robinson Middle School, 2018-2020