Return to Headlines

Nov. 6, 2018 - Four Plano ISD Teams Earn "Top 64" in the International Public Policy Forum Competition

On November 6, the Brewer Foundation and New York University announced the “Top 64” teams for the 18th annual International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) - the only contest that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy. In total, nearly 200 teams from 15 countries and 25 U.S. states submitted qualifying round essays. Plano has four Top 64 teams in the 2018-2019 International Public Policy Forum competition.

To enter the competition, teams prepared a qualifying round essay of 2,800 words in either the affirmative or negative perspective on the 2018-19 IPPF topic, "Resolved: U.S. abdication of international leadership creates dangerous global instability." 

These "Top 64" teams begin a single-elimination, written debate tournament, with one school affirming the resolution and the other negating it. Judges blindly review the essays in the order they were written and select the advancing team. The process continues until the final eight teams are determined. The "Elite 8" earn an all-expenses-paid trip to the IPPF Finals in New York City in April 2019. In New York, teams compete in oral debates in front of a panel of judges that includes professionals in law, business, politics, debate and academia. The IPPF Champion is awarded a $10,000 grand prize and the Brewer Cup.

 Congratulations to these advancing students:

Jasper High School, Team A

  • Michael Chen
  • Aditya Kumar
  • Pranav Nathan
  • Alyssa Nie
  • Pranav Pattatathunaduvil
  • Angela Yi

Jasper High School, Team B

  • Tejas Bansal
  • Shruti Kotha
  • Renee Li
  • Michelle Ma
  • Reeya Shah
  • Angela Wang
  • Lillian Ye

Plano Senior High School

  • Benjamin Ai
  • Rohan Chhaya
  • Adi Jain
  • Aryan Jasani
  • Ritvik Mahendra
  • Sean Patel
  • Vandan Patel
  • Aishni Shrivastava
  • Walter Stark
  • Sharan Tatineni
  • Anuj Trivedi
  • Allen Wu
  • Vivian Zhao

Plano West Senior High School

  • Nihar Annam
  • Edison Huang
  • Saher Lakhani
  • Daniel Liang
  • Neha Mullassery
  • Avaneesh Rade
  • Viswa Rajagopalan
  • Emily Ren
  • Donovan Spall
  • Brandon Wang
  • Yizhen Zhen