Return to Headlines

Jan. 21, 2019 - Two Jasper High School Debate Teams Advance to the "Top 32" Round of the International Public Policy Forum

Excelling at research, writing and advocacy skills, two Plano ISD teams from Jasper High School participated in single-elimination written debate competition where each team was assigned a position either affirmative or negative. This year's topic is “Resolved: U.S. abdication of international leadership creates dangerous global instability.” As a result of review by a panel of judges, both Jasper High School teams, have advanced to the “Top 32” round of the International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) debate competition. The 2018-19 "Top 32" teams include 27 U.S. teams from 15 states and five international teams from Canada, India, Singapore and Taiwan. 

By advancing, "Top 32" students remain eligible to win a $10,000 grand prize and an all-expense-paid trip to the IPPF finals in New York City on April 27. Read more about the Top 64 Plano ISD winning teams in the November Headline News.

Congratulations to these students advancing to the "Top 32" competition:

Jasper High School, Team A

  • Michael Chen
  • Aditya Kumar
  • Pranav Nathan
  • Alyssa Nie
  • Pranav Pattatathunaduvil
  • Angela Yi

Jasper High School, Team B

  • Tejas Bansal
  • Shruti Kotha
  • Renee Li
  • Michelle Ma
  • Reeya Shah
  • Angela Wang
  • Lillian Ye

During the "Top 32" round, Jasper High School (Team A) will compete in a written debate against Valley High School from West Des Moines, Iowa; Jasper High School (Team B) will compete against Bridgewater-Raritan High School from Bridgewater, New Jersey and winning teams will be announced on February 15 and winners will proceed to the “Sweet 16” round.

On March 25, the “Elite 8” teams will be announced. Those teams will travel to New York City on an all-expense-paid trip to the IPPF finals in New York City. The finals will take place on April 27, at the Harold Pratt House. The IPPF finals give students the opportunity to participate in oral debates in front of some of the world’s foremost experts in debate, business, law and politics. The winning team will take home the “Brewer Cup” and a $10,000 grand prize.

About the IPPF and the Brewer Foundation

Sponsored by the Brewer Foundation and New York University, the IPPF is the first and only debate contest that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy.

The IPPF was founded in 2001 by the Brewer Foundation and is now jointly administered with New York University. The program is available to all high schools around the world – public and private – for free. The IPPF is endorsed by leading forensic agencies, such as the National Association for Urban Debate Leagues, the International Debate Education Association, the Impact Coalition, Associated Leaders of Urban Debate Leagues, and the National Debate Coaches Association. The Brewer Foundation is a private, non-profit organization funded by companies, individuals and the national litigation firm of Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors.