Return to Headlines

Feb. 21, 2019 - Two Jasper High School Teams Advance to the IPPF "Sweet 16" Round of Global Debate Competition

Debate teams from around the world entered the 2018-19 International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) competition, but only 16 remain. The top 16 teams include two teams from Jasper High School and represent schools from 10 U.S. states and one team from India. This year, teams submitted qualifying round essays affirming or negating the IPPF topic, “Resolved: U.S. abdication of international leadership creates dangerous global instability.”

Sponsored by the Brewer Foundation and New York University, the IPPF is the first and only competition that gives high school students from around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy. By advancing, the students remain eligible to win a $10,000 grand prize. The two Jasper High School teams in the "Sweet 16" are:

Jasper High School, Team A

  • Michael Chen
  • Aditya Kumar
  • Pranav Nathan
  • Alyssa Nie
  • Pranav Pattatathunaduvil
  • Angela Yi

Jasper High School, Team B

  • Tejas Bansal
  • Shruti Kotha
  • Renee Li
  • Michelle Ma
  • Reeya Shah
  • Angela Wang
  • Lillian Ye

Beginning in November 2018, the top 64 teams began a single-elimination, written debate competition. Each team was assigned a position (affirmative or negative) and then volleyed papers back and forth with another team via email for the next six weeks. A panel of judges reviewed the essays in the order they were presented and selected the winning teams.

In the “Round of 64,” Jasper High School (Team A) advanced over Memorial High School from Houston. Jasper High School (Team B) advanced over C.E. Byrd High School from Shreveport, Louisiana. 

In the “Top 32” round, Jasper High School (Team A) advanced over Valley High School from West Des Moines, Iowa. Jasper High School (Team B) advanced over Bridgewater-Raritan High School from Bridgewater, New Jersey. 

The “Sweet 16” round is now underway. Jasper High School (Team A) is competing against Notre Dame High School from Sherman Oaks, California. Jasper High School (Team B) is competing against Hamilton High School from Chandler, Arizona. If the teams advance to the "Elite 8," to be announced on March 25, they will win an all-expenses-paid trip to the IPPF finals in New York City on April 27. 

The IPPF finals give students the opportunity to participate in oral debates in front of some of the world’s foremost experts in debate, business, law and politics. Judges will include Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors Partner William A. Brewer III, New York University President Emeritus John Sexton and Council on Foreign Relations President Richard N. Haass. The winning team will take home the “Brewer Cup” and a $10,000 grand prize.

About the IPPF and the Brewer Foundation

The IPPF was founded in 2001 by the Brewer Foundation and is now jointly administered with New York University. The program is available to all high schools around the world – public and private – for free. The IPPF is endorsed by leading forensic agencies, such as the National Association for Urban Debate Leagues, the International Debate Education Association, the Impact Coalition, Associated Leaders of Urban Debate Leagues, and the National Debate Coaches Association.

The Brewer Foundation is a private, non-profit organization funded by companies, individuals and the national litigation firm of Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors. With offices in New York and Dallas, the foundation has achieved widespread recognition for its efforts to create, fund and manage a variety of educational outreach programs.