Return to Headlines

13 Plano National PTA Schools of Excellence Honored by Board of Trustees

October 1, 2019

The thirteen schools who have received the National PTA School of Excellence designation were honored by the Board of Trustees at the October 1 meeting. See the photo gallery of board recognitions.

The National PTA School of Excellence designation is a recognition program that supports and celebrates partnerships between PTAs and their school communities to enrich the educational experience and overall well-being for all students. To be considered, PTAs and school administrators make a year-long commitment to identify and implement an action plan for school improvement based on PTA's National Standards for family-school partnerships and transformative family engagement. Schools that exhibit improvement are honored as National PTA Schools of Excellence, a distinction that spans two years. Huffman Elementary, now the IB World School at Huffman Elementary, has been honored for the third time. At the October 1 board meeting, Trustee David Stolle said that, “…PTAs connect schools to their community, and that [community connection] is what makes Plano so strong. This is really important work.” Anyone can join PTA. Members do not need to have a child in Plano ISD to join. 

National PTA Schools of Excellence

  • Barksdale Elementary School, 2019-2021
  • Boggess Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Bettye Haun Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Gulledge Elementary School, 2017-2019
  • Harrington Elementary School, 2019-2021
  • Hickey Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Huffman Elementary School, 2017-2019, 2015-2017 and 2019-2021
  • Hughston Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Mathews Elementary School, 2019-2021
  • Mitchell Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Pearson Early Childhood School, 2018-2020
  • Robinson Middle School, 2018-2020
  • Wyatt Elementary School, 2019-2021

At the board meeting, Council of PTAs President Kelley Thomas presented a "spirit quilt" to Superintendent Sara Bonser. The quilt is made with spirit shirts from schools who received the designation from 2018-2020.

Council president presents quilt to superintendent

Council of PTAs President Kelley Thomas presents a "spirit quilt" representing the schools who achieved their National PTA School of Excellence for 2018-2020.