Return to Headlines

Speech and Debate: International Public Policy Forum Top 32

January 3, 2020

Jasper High School and Plano West Senior High speech and debate teams were selected in November to participated in the single-elimination written debate competition of the Top 64 International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) competition. As a result of review by a panel of judges, both Plano ISD teams, have advanced to the “Top 32” round of the IPPF debate competition. The 2019-2020 "Top 32" teams include 26 U.S. teams from 15 states and six international teams from Canada, China (2), Republic of Korea, Mongolia and Vietnam.

By advancing, "Top 32" teams remain eligible to win a $10,000 grand prize and an all-expense-paid trip to the IPPF finals in New York City on April 25, 2020. 

The “Top 32” teams will continue to debate the topic, "Resolved: When in conflict, a nation's self-interest should outweigh its international commitments to migrants." Congratulations to these students advancing to the "Top 32" competition:

Jasper High School

  • Neil Gupta
  • Priyanka Gupta
  • Charles Hou
  • Kelly Hu
  • Anushka Kumar
  • Tirth Shah
  • Leonard Yu

Plano West Senior High School

  • Rohan Kamalakantha
  • Shruti Kotha
  • Aditya Kumar
  • Renee Li
  • Michelle Ma
  • Andy Shufer
  • Suchir Vemulapalli
  • Lillian Ye