Return to Headlines

Speech & Debate: Newman Smith Tournament Results

September 26, 2020

Representing Jasper High School were 39 speech and debate students who competed virtually among 186 entries from 28 schools on September 25-26 at the Newman Smith High School tournament. Congratulations to these Jasper High School winners:

Congressional Debate

  • Shrey Bahl, finalist
  • Abhinav Chellury, third place
  • Kaitlyn Hou, second place
  • Amit Konda, fourth place
  • Atharv Kulkarni, first place
  • Patrick Lu, seventh place 
  • Raghav Ramki, finalist
  • Justin Zhu, finalist  

International Extemporaneous Speaking

  • Pranav Kalakuntla, fourth place
  • Brennan Lee, third place
  • Patrick Lu, second place
  • Andy Qin, fifth place
  • Kaaviya Shenbaharaman, seventh place

Original Oratory

  • Joshua Li, sixth place
  • Christopher Lorde, second place
  • Amina Syed, fourth place
  • Haniyyah Zia, third place

Public Forum Debate

  • Ray Chu and Byron Li, quarterfinalists
  • Anika Damle and Vedha Vaddaraju, quarterfinalists
  • Brennan Lee and Brian Zhou – second place  

U.S. Extemporaneous Speaking

  • Katherine Lee, sixth place
  • Gabriel Bo, fourth place
  • Madeline Tsao, third place
  • Kyle Letterer, first place