Return to Headlines

Speech and Debate: 2021 National Speech and Debate Tournament - 2 National Champions

June 22, 2021

The 89th National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA) Tournament took place virtually on June 14-19. This tournament was the largest ever, with 6,013 online competitors from 1,426 schools in 47 U.S. states and territories and 7 countries. Competition included the the top 6% of all NSDA members. Two Plano ISD students earned national championships.

School Awards

  • Jasper High School - School of Outstanding Distinction, coach Tom McCaffrey
  • Plano West Senior High - School of Excellence in Speech, coach Robey Holland

Event Awards

Congressional Debate: Senate

  • Atharv Kulkarni, Jasper High School, first place - national champion

Atharv Kulkarni, Jasper High School, first place Congressional Debate: Senate

(Photo courtesy of NSDA.)

Congressional Debate: House

  • Srjana Srivatsa, Jasper High School, semifinalist

International Extemporaneous Speaking

  • Gabriel Bo, Jasper High School, quarterfinalist
  • Anushka Kumar, Plano West Senior High, octofinalist 
  • Pranav Pattatathunaduvil, Plano West Senior High, first place - national champion

Pranav Pattatathunaduvil, Plano West Senior High, first place - International Extemp

(Photo courtesy of NSDA.)

  • Angela Wang, Plano West Senior High, eighth place 

Public Forum Debate

  • Brennan Lee and Brian Zhou, Jasper High School, eleventh place  

United States Extemporaneous Speaking

  • Jishnu Basu, Plano Senior High, quarterfinalist 
  • Charles Hou, Plano West Senior High, quarterfinalist
  • Kyle Letterer, Jasper High School, eighth place
  • Madeline Tsao, Jasper High School, quarterfinalist 
  • Leo Yu, Plano West Senior High, octofinalist