August 7, 2018

Watch Video: August 7, 2018 (Length: 1:59:58)

The Plano ISD Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, August 7, 2018, at the Plano ISD Administration Center.

  • Trustee Angela Powell provided an inspirational message.
  • School Board President Missy Bender welcomed student representatives from the Boy Scouts and Girls Scouts for serving as greeters. The representatives led the Pledge of Allegiance and introduced themselves.
  • The following administrative appointments were announced:
    • Mona Abdelfattah, Assistant Principal, Williams High School
    • Lori Brooks, Assistant Principal, Huffman Elementary School
    • Tarah Clark, Assistant Principal, Armstrong Middle School
    • Brittany Drake, Assistant Principal, McMillen High School
    • Elena Helms, Assistant Principal, Hughston & Beverly Elementary School
    • Abby Hines-Homer, Assistant Principal, Otto Middle School
    • Emily Huechteman, Assistant Principal, Andrews Elementary School
    • Athanasios Icossipentarhos, Assistant Principal, Shepton High School
    • Bryan McCord, Assistant Principal, Jasper High School
    • Kim Murphy, Assistant Principal, Jasper High School
    • Mary Pond, Assistant Principal Centennial Elementary School
    • Coryn Prince, Associate Principal, Plano Senior High School
    • Travis Ragsdale, Assistant Principal, Renner Middle School
    • Roland Rios, Assistant Principal, Plano East Senior High School
    • Susan Schlosser, Assistant Principal, Saigling Elementary School
    • Heather Schmitt, Assistant Principal, Weatherford Elementary School
    • Jigyasa Sethi, Assistant Principal, Rasor Elementary School
    • Ari Weinberg, Assistant Principal, Schimelpfenig Middle School
    • Pam Clark, Principal, Clark High School
    • Kristen Fislar, Principal, Beaty Early Childhood School
    • Jennifer Haugh, Principal, Pearson Early Childhood School
    • Mark Letterer, Principal, Wilson Middle School
    • Jana Sandall, Principal, Bird Special Programs Center
    • Melanie Schulte, Principal, Frankford Middle School
    • Shelley Crowder, Director, Adult Transition Services
    • Selenda Anderson, Executive Director, School Improvement and Innovation
  • There were no speakers regarding agenda items during the public comment portion of the agenda.
  • Presentations and supporting documents for agenda items may be viewed on BoardBook.
  • The board took the following actions or heard the following reports:
    • Item VII.H, Agreement for the Purchase of Attendance Credits (Recapture) for the 2018-2019 School Year, was pulled from the consent agenda for further discussion.
    • All other items on the consent agenda were approved.
    • The board approved and presented a resolution recognizing the Plano Chamber of Commerce for their designation as National Chamber of the Year awarded by the Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives. This national award recognizes a chamber’s demonstrated organizational strength and impact on key community priorities such as education, transportation, business development and quality of life. Plano Chamber President and CEO Jamee Jolly and Chamber Board Chair Jeff Beckley accepted the resolution on behalf of the chamber.
    • Jamee Jolly made a surprise announcement that School Board President Missy Bender had been selected as the chamber’s Citizen of the Year and would be awarded at the Best of Plano event on November 1.
    • The board approved amendments to the Board Operating Protocol as presented.
    • The board approved board member liaisons to committees for the 2018-19 school year.
    • The board approved the endorsement of Debbie Gillespie to fill Region 10, Position A and Kelly Juergens to fill Region 10, Position D on the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Board of Directors.
    • The board approved Vice President Dr. Yoram Solomon as an official Plano Independent School District voting delegate to the 2018 TASB Delegate Assembly in Austin, Texas on September 29, 2018 and approved David Stolle as an alternate delegate.
    • The board approved Chapter 21 contracts presented.
    • The board approved alternate teacher appraisers per Policy DNA(LOCAL).
    • The board approved the Parameters Order authorizing the issuance and sale of Plano Independent School District Unlimited Tax Refunding Bonds, Series 2018.
    • Item VII.H, Agreement for the Purchase of Attendance Credits (Recapture) for the 2018-2019 School Year, previously pulled from the consent agenda, was brought forward for discussion and approved as presented.
    • Susan Modisette, assistant superintendent for campus services, Matthew Sipes, director of expanded learning pathways, and Dr. Katrina Hasley, assistant superintendent for academic services, provided a summary of summer learning opportunities provided for students and instructional staff.
    • The board adopted FNF(LOCAL) Student Rights and Responsibilities: Interrogations and Searches under second reading as presented by Karla Oliver, assistant superintendent for government, community and planning initiatives.
    • The board approved DL(LOCAL) Work Load, EEB(LOCAL) Instructional Arrangements: Class Size and EIE(LOCAL) Academic Achievement: Retention and Promotion under first reading. These policies will be presented for adoption under second reading at a subsequent meeting.
    • The board adopted FNCA(LOCAL) Student Conduct: Dress Code under first and final reading.
    • The board approved EIF(REGULATION) and EIF(EXHIBIT C) Academic Achievement: Graduation under second reading.
    • The board reviewed GKD(EXHIBIT C) Community Relations: Nonschool Use of School Facilities under first reading. Additional information was requested for consideration at a subsequent meeting.
  • There was one speaker regarding non-agenda items.
Plano ISD School Board Meeting - August 7, 2018
Plano ISD School Board Meeting - August 7, 2018

The August 7, 2018 meeting of the Plano ISD Board of Trustees. Length: 2 hrs.