• Teacher of the Year 2017

  • The gala was attended by approximately 1,100 educators, school and district administrators, PTA leaders, sponsors and other community members. Entertainment was provided by the Dallas Cirque Theatre Youth Troupe. Amazing feats of acrobatics, trapeze acts and more wowed the audience. Plano ISD thanks the gala sponsors, the selection committee and the solicitations committee for their part in making this special night a reality for Plano ISD teachers. The Teacher of the Year Selection committee members interviewed all nominees during the selection process and the Teacher of the Year Gala Planning and Solicitations Committee worked to secure monetary and in-kind gifts for all nominees, the eight Excellence in Teaching awardees and the two District Teachers of the Year.

  • Strong Teachers. Strong Students. 

    Teacher of the Year nominees from every Plano ISD campus were honored under the "big top" at Plano Centre on the evening of May 11. To be considered for this prestigious honor, the teachers were nominated by their peers for excellence in teaching and contributions to their school community.

    As part of this gala celebration, ten "Excellence in Teaching" finalist were honored. The ten finalist are: Tracy Evans, Mitchell Elementary; Aretha Layfette, Harrington Elementary; Maggie Lopez, Haun Elementary; Cody McGregor, Schell Elementary; Lynn Varnau, Andrews Elementary; Satin Abtahi, Haggard Middle School; Kim Gunnels, Academy High School; Tiffany Johnstone, Wilson Middle School; Gerardo Luna, Williams High School; and Kevin Moore, Shepton High School. From this group of talented teachers two teachers of the year were announced by Dr. Brian Binggeli: Elementary Teacher of the Year Cody McGregor and Secondary Teacher of the Year Kevin Moore. Read more about these amazing teachers. 

    School Board President Missy Bender, Secondary Teacher of the Year Kevin Moore & Elementary Teacher of the Year Cody McGregor

    President of the Board of Trustees Missy Bender with Secondary Teacher of the Year Kevin Moore, Shepton High School and Elementary Teacher of the Year Cody McGregor, Schell Elementary.
    Photo by Scott Peek Photography.

  • Early Childhood Programs

    Kelly Gonzales - Beaty Early Childhood
    Carmen Ramos - Head Start Program
    Kristy Spurrier - Isaacs Early Childhood
    Michelle Matthews - Pearson Early Childhood

  • Elementary Schools

    Darren Dodd - Aldridge Elementary School
    Lynn Varnau - Andrews Elementary School
    Mai Kloub - Barksdale Elementary School
    Alethia Lamp - Barron Elementary School
    Krysta Buhler - Bethany Elementary School
    Leslie Roten - Beverly Elementary School
    Amanda Bonesio - Boggess Elementary School
    Jackie Brownlee - Brinker Elementary School
    Kendra Hensley - Carlisle Elementary School
    Julie Moreno - Centennial Elementary School
    Christine Kallman - Christie Elementary School
    Barbara Langston - Daffron Elementary School
    Stephanie Godfrey - Davis Elementary School
    Deanna Murray - Dooley Elementary School
    Wendy Hise - Forman Elementary School
    Stacy Whitson - Gulledge Elementary School
    Mei-Fang Sun - Haggar Elementary School
    Aretha Lafayette - Harrington Elementary School
    Maggie Lopez - Haun Elementary School
    Karen Berry - Hedgcoxe Elementary School
    Angela Wilson - Hickey Elementary School
    Megan Sibley - Hightower Elementary School
    Courtney West - Huffman Elementary School
    Nykol Cauhape - Hughston Elementary School
    Candy Kern - Hunt Elementary School
    Stephanie Stoller - Jackson Elementary School
    Angela Richards - Mathews Elementary School
    DeEtte Quinn - McCall Elementary School
    Lauren Ann Pollard - Meadows Elementary School
    Joyce Spisak - Memorial Elementary School
    Brittney Thompson - Mendenhall Elementary School
    Stephanie Houser - Miller Elementary School
    Tracy Evans - Mitchell Elementary School
    Peggy Bridge - Rasor Elementary School
    Ju'nelle Skelton - Saigling Elementary School
    Cody McGregor - Schell Elementary School
    Kaitlyn Wright - Shepard Elementary School
    Kiera Caldwell - Sigler Elementary School
    Nicole Geiler - Skaggs Elementary School
    Meghan Huslig - Stinson Elementary School
    Jennifer Ortega - Thomas Elementary School
    Ericka Bonilla - Weatherford Elementary School
    Casie Howells - Wells Elementary School
    Jim Yerger - Wyatt Elementary School

  • Middle Schools

    Molly James - Armstrong Middle School
    Jennifer Kennedy - Bowman Middle School
    Zarinah Hayes - Carpenter Middle School
    Jennifer Valliere - Frankford Middle School
    Satin Abtahi - Haggard Middle School
    Valerie Frazier - Hendrick Middle School
    Laura Mullen - Murphy Middle School
    Anna Mackey - Otto Middle School
    Laura Walters - Renner Middle School
    Rocio Martinez-Mendoza - Rice Middle School
    Lisa Arriaga - Robinson Middle School
    Clay Wheeler - Schimelpfenig Middle School
    Tiffany Johnstone - Wilson Middle School

  • High Schools

    Kim Gunnels - Academy High School
    Cristine Jordan - Clark High School
    Andrew Kistner - Guinn Special Programs Center
    Rebecca Mallory - Jasper High School
    Sherika Gaines - McMillen High School
    Kevin Moore - Shepton High School
    Ellen Miller - Vines High School
    Gerardo Luna - Williams High School

  • Senior High Schools

    Daniel Hall - Plano East Senior High School
    Tricia Cannon - Plano Senior High School
    Nancy Lewis - Plano West Senior High School