• "Marking Our Mark" Plano ISD Honors Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

     January 21, 2016

  • Plano ISD's annual tribute celebrating the vision of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., was held the evening of January 21 at Williams High School. The event featured the theme "Marking Our Mark" and showcased student talent through stage and musical performances, essay readings and awards presentations. "Remember When" videos featured retired district leaders.

    History of Plano ISD

    Read a history of Plano ISD, narrated by Teachers of the Year Lilli Wisler and Jennifer Denton, Williams High School students and Superintendent of Schools Brian Binggeli. 

    Opening Events

    Pre-program entertainment was provided by the Rice Middle School Jazz Band, directed by Jason Tucker and David Lipe. Nancy Humphrey, school board president.

    As guests arrived at the event, they enjoyed browsing a gallery of MLK Art Contest gallery of finalists' and semifinalists' artwork and enjoyed making their marks on an interactive chalk art wall.

Art Contest Awards

  • Recognition of the first place art award winners in each of four categories was provided by Board President Nancy Humphrey and Teachers of the Year Lilli Wisler and Jennifer Denton. The contest was sponsored by the Plano ISD Education Foundation. 

Musical Finales

  • Plano Children's Chorale performed a popular Zambian song, "Bonse Aba" to help culminate the tribute event.

    Tate Keen sang “Song of Freedom," with lyrics by Michael Cao, Skaggs Elementary School student, and music by Tate, a Plano Senior High School and Texas Christian University alum. He was accompanied on piano by his sister Rachel Franklin, Plano Senior High School alum.

  • Quotes
    "This event wouldn’t be possible without the work of the Plano ISD MLK Planning Committee under the direction of Dr. Myrtle Hightower. Dr. Hightower has served as chairperson for this event for many years and we appreciate her leadership at this event and throughout the community."

    -Nancy Humphrey, President, Plano ISD Board of Trustees

    "270,000 residents now call this 72-square-mile piece of land home, creating a rich melting pot of culture. With one in four Plano residents being born outside of the United States, this has truly become an international community. More than 85 languages are spoken by Plano ISD students alone.
    One-room school houses have transformed into 72 schools that hold 55,000 students and 6,600 employees who are all making their mark in the classroom and within the community. Students are building their lives on the foundation laid by those before us by embracing collaboration and immersing themselves in the global society."

    -Dr. Brian T. Binggeli, Superintendent of Schools

  • Williams High School Student Narrators

  • Elementary Student Legacy Writing Winners

Diversity Leadership Awards

  • Nominees and winners of Plano ISD Diversity Leadership Awards were announced at the MLK Tribute event by Nisha Springer, Plano ISD Diversity Advisory Committee awards chairman. Winners were presented with awards by Autry Daniel, Plano ISD employee recruitment and retention assistant director.

    The awards are coordinated annually by the Plano ISD Diversity Advisory Committee to recognize students, staff and community members whose actions honor the work and ideals of Dr. King. The winners were announced in a video featuring Pearson Early Childhood School students.

  • Shray Tapaiawala, Plano East Senior High School (Honorable Mention)

  • Jenine Taher, Plano Academy High School

  • Forman Elementary School’s 'Beautiful Me' Program -- Andrea Jaramillo, Jody Duran, Linea Villarreal, Courtney Tarrer and Amy Durham

  • Donna Moreland, Haggard Middle School MathCounts Program

  • Additional Nominees

  • Committee Members