Return to Headlines

Oct. 4, 2018 - Haun Elementary PTA, Staff and Student Celebrate National PTA School of Excellence Award

The National PTA School of Excellence designation is awarded to PTAs who earn the award by providing programs that support and celebrate partnerships between PTA and their school to enrich the educational experience and overall well-being for all students. Congratulations to Haun Elementary PTA for keeping their school and school community strong. 

Support your local school PTA by becoming a member

Haun PTA president and officers with sign Proud to be School of Excellence

Haun PTA: Front row kneeling: Aleia Grantham, Tin-Man Chan, Angel Perkins, Dori Berg, Melanie Chevalier and back row: Melanie Davis, Lisa Kotas, Jana Stern and Yuki Olinger

PTA matters because family engagement equals student success. Nurturing the family-school partnership is the core of the National PTA School of Excellence program. Regardless of income or background, when families are consistently involved in their children’s education, students are more likely to: earn higher grades, attend school regularly enroll in higher level classes, develop stronger social skills, graduate from high school and go on to post secondary education and secure productive work and rewarding careers.

Haun cake cutting and cupcakes

Cake cutting: Principal Jayne Smith, PTA President Yuki Olinger, Assistant Principal Ty Karl and Plano Council of PTAs President Kelley Thomas; Haun student receives a celebration cupcake.

 students eating cupcakes at celebration

Haun students enjoying celebration cupcakes.

Plano ISD PTAs who Have Earned the National PTA School of Excellence Designation

  • Boggess Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Bettye Haun Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Gulledge Elementary School, 2017-2019
  • Hickey Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Huffman Elementary School, 2017-2019 and 2015-2017
  • Hughston Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Mitchell Elementary School, 2018-2020
  • Pearson Early Childhood School 2018-2020
  • Robinson Middle School, 2018-2020