Return to Headlines

Nov. 15, 2018 - Fire Prevention Poster Contest 2018 City-Level Winners

Update, April 24, 3019 

Fourteen Plano ISD students selected as District Winners. Read more in Headline News.

Each year, Plano ISD and Plano Fire and Rescue sponsor a Fire Prevention Poster Contest using the theme provided by the National Fire Protection Association’s Fire Prevention Week. This year's theme is “Look. Listen. Learn. Be aware – fire can happen anywhere.” Students across Plano created posters and competed at the school and city levels. City-level winners are chosen by Plano firefighters. See photo gallery of winning posters.

The awards ceremony was held in October. The city-level winning posters move on to district level competition in March 2019. 

Winning students with trophyies

City-level winners at the awards ceremony with Deputy Chief, Fire Prevention David Kerr (back row left), Captain Peggy Harrell and Fire Chief Sam Greif. Photograph courtesy of the City of Plano.

Kinder Division (PreK and Kindergarten)

  • Pranav Balakrishnan, first place, Gulledge Elementary, kindergarten, teacher: Regina Smith
  • Livia Abraham, second place, Hunt Elementary, kindergarten, teacher: Carole Greer
  • Abdullah Mohammad, third place, Haun Elementary, kindergarten, teacher: Tracy Olson

Primary Division (Grades 1 and 2)

  • Olivia Weir, first place, Carlisle Elementary, 2nd grade, teacher: Kristie Schmidt
  • Joanna Koduvath, second place, Hightower Elementary, 1st grade, teacher: Kathryn Pickle,
  • Akriti Sutrave, third place, McCall Elementary, 2nd grade, teacher: Cynthia Hill

Intermediate Division (Grades 3 and 4)

  • Annika Wong, first place, Schell Elementary, 3rd grade, teacher: Melissa Ankenbauer
  • Naisha Shrivastava, second place, Gulledge Elementary, 3rd grade, teacher: Maddy Bird
  • Angela Campbell, third place, Miller Elementary, 4th grade, teacher: Brenda Ruth

Middle Division (Grades 5 and 6)

  • Isabella Wang, first place, Skaggs Elementary, 5th grade, teacher: Sara Wales
  • Tanish Chauhan, second place, Barksdale Elementary, 5th grade, teacher: Debbie Bird-Cornell
  • Aadhya Gaur, third place, Rose Haggar Elementary, 5th grade, teacher: Michelle Tatro

Junior High Division (Grades 7 and 8)

  • Olivia Embess, first place, Rice Middle School, 7th grade, teacher: Sara Aminzadeh
  • Ishi Chakravarthy, second place, Schimelpfenig Middle School, 7th grade, teacher: Anne Quaintance-Howard
  • Christina Mathew, third place, Murphy Middle School, 7th grade, teacher: Nadia Anetopoulos

High School Division (Grades 9 - 12)

  • Joshua Wang, first place, Jasper High School, 10th grade, teacher: Adriane Anderson
  • Yu Mei, second place, Plano West Senior High School, 12th grade
  • Minji Kwon, third place, Jasper High School, 9th grade, teacher: Sara Stevens