Barron Elementary School has a rich history in PISD. Barron was opened as an elementary school in 1971 and was named for James M. Barron. James M. Barron served on the first Plano School Board from 1899 to 1903 and before that served on the Plano City Council in 1891. It was during his tenure on the City Council that Ordinance 84 was passed by the citizens where by the City Council would act as a “board of directors” of the school system. J. M. Barron was named, among others, to be an ex-officio member of the school board. At this time the City of Plano was declared to be an independent school district. Mr. Barron was married to Virginia Routh.
Ray Hopper opened Barron Elementary School and served as Barron’s principal from 1971 – 1975. Barron remained an elementary school until 2002. During that time, Charles Cooper, Norma Hill, Sharon Gunn, Mary McKenzie, Debbie, Saviano, and Jacque Meziere served as principal for Barron Elementary School. In 2002, Barron was renovated and converted to Barron Early Childhood School. Elaine Schmidt served as principal of Barron Early Childhood School from 2002 – 2009. During the summer of 2009, Barron was renovated once again and reopened as Barron Elementary School. Michele Loper was named principal of the newly renovated elementary school and is proud to serve the Barron community.