• Plano Senior High School

  • PSHS Facade

  • Campus Information

    Associate Principal:

    Andy Jacob, Student Activities and Facilities

    Dr. Coryn Prince, Curriculum and Instruction

    Assistant Principals: 

    Kevin Lyons

    Tracy Ryerson

    Bryan Spiritus

    Marjorie Hall

    Director of Guidance: Lisa Brown


    Lisa Brown, Director

    Joel Brzezinski (Bro - De)

    Lance Davis (Mb - O)

    Grace Delgado (P - Ro)

    Becky Heslep (Th - Z)

    Mark Hundley (Ru - Te)

    Giovanna James (H - Ka)

    Junie Jones (Ke - Ma)

    Jennifer Medina (Di - G)

    Drew Obert (A - Bri)

    School Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.

    Enrollment: 2,700

    School Colors: Maroon and white

    Mascot: Wildcat

    Motto: A tradition of excellence.

    Year Opened: 1975

  • Plano Senior High School Principal Sarah Watkins

  • Sarah Watkins


  • Contact Campus

    Phone: (469) 752-9300
    Fax: (469) 752-9301
    2200 Independence Parkway
    Plano, TX 75075

  • Achievements

    Top School Honors

    • 42 National Merit Semifinalists in 2014
    • 94% of PSHS students go on to higher education
    • U.S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (two-time winner)
    • Texas Exemplary School
    • More than 3,200 AP exams given each year with over 80% passing rate
    • Largest annual high school blood drive in the country
    • 16 Plano Wildcats have attended the US Military Academy at West Point
    • Multiple National Council of Teachers of English writing awards
    • 2005 Plano ISD and Texas State Teacher of the Year
    • 2012 and 2016 Plano ISD Teachers of the Year
    • A.G. Bell Association Program of the Year award for the Plano Regional Day School Program for the Deaf

    Academic & Extracurricular Contests

    • WorldQuest National Champions (2011-12)
    • Three German folk dancing state championships
    • Destination ImagiNation Global Champions
    • Science Fair - 15 first place winners at International Science Fair and two grand prize winners at International Science Fair; nine first place winners at Texas State Science Fair
    • Three national finalists in the Intel Science Talent Search
    • Six TI Junkins Scholarships in 2008
    • Two Academic Decathlon state championships

    Speech & Debate

    • Seven national champions at Princeton and Harvard speech tournaments
    • Five UIL speech individual champions
    • 11 state speech team championships
    • Four National Forensic League individual national champions
    • International Public Policy Forum Speech and Debate National Champions (2011)
    • TFA State Champion Speech team 12 out of 15 years including 2015
    • Nine TFA speech individual champions

    Fine Arts

    • Two GRAMMY Awards for fine arts department
    • Percussive Arts Society national drumline champions
    • 2007 National Wind Band honors
    • TMEA Honor Full Orchestra (2015)
    • Four-time TMEA Honor Choir
    • Two Gold Seals at the 2014 State Visual Art Scholastic Event
    • 3D Art Best of Show in Young Masters at the Dallas Museum of Art
    • One-Act Play state championship
    • Two Theatrical Set Design state championships

    Career & Technical Education

    • BPA State Qualifier
    • Economics national champion


    • National football championship
    • Seven state football championships (the only school in Texas to win a state football championship in four different divisions)
    • State champions boys' 5A soccer (2008-09 and five prior years)
    • Four girls' soccer state championships boys' basketball state championship
    • State softball tournament semifinals (2011)
    • Two golf state championships
    • Three boys' swimming state championships
    • Two girls' swimming state championships
    • Three cheerleading national champions
    • Six national champion squads at American Dance / Drill Team School Competition

    Campus Programs

    27 advanced placement courses; junior achievement; AVID; two- and three-hour courses providing experience and training in several career options, including clinical rotation, auto tech and auto paint and body, child care, vet technology, and advertising design; engineering courses through Project Lead the Way and science; dual credit courses; state and national award winning speech, fine and performing arts programs; ROTC; highly competitive sports programs; six foreign language sequences; journalism; competitive co-curricular organizations such as DECA, BPA, Academic Decathlon, and many more.

    Parent Involvement Opportunities

    Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA); booster clubs for all athletic teams, speech, theatre, Ag. and musical performance groups; volunteer workers in offices, library, counseling center and advisory committees.

    Community/Business Partnerships

    Green Mountain Energy; Jostens; Pike Powers Energy Lab; Solar Plano; UT Dana Center; and UTD.

  • History of Plano Senior

    Plano Senior replaced the old, traditional high school (now Williams), which switched to ninth and tenth grades only upon the opening of this new facility in 1975. Built on a large area of land like its later sister school, Plano East, Plano Senior High's campus includes Haggard Middle School and a second natatorium built by the city on the Haggard campus. The school's construction cost $10.3 million, and it houses thousands of students.