Return to Headlines

2022 Superintendent Scholarship Awarded to Aspiring Teacher

June 4, 2022

Each year, school district superintendents in Collin County are awarded scholarships by Collin College District President Dr. H. Neil Matkin to be awarded to deserving students in their school districts who will attend Collin College. Plano ISD Superintendent Dr. Theresa Williams selected Plano East Senior High School 2022 graduate Abigail Olaizola as this year’s recipient.

Superintendent Williams called Abigail and her family the day before graduation, June 3, to share the exciting news. The scholarship comes with a $1,500 per year award for up to two years.

“I literally screamed with happiness when I found out about it,” Abigail stated. ”It means a lot to me because I have a way to go to college now.”

Abigail plans on becoming a teacher and after she earns her degree she wants to return to teach in Plano ISD.

Honoree  with superintendent and principal

Plano East Senior High School Principal George King, scholarship recipient Abigail Olaizola and Plano ISD Superintendent Dr. Theresa Williams.