Return to Headlines

Aug. 29 - TEA Commissioner Mike Morath Provides HB3 Update to Collin County Superintendents, Board and Elected Officials

Plano ISD hosted North Texas districts and elected officials at Sockwell Center on Thursday, August 29. Collin County superintendents, trustees and legislators attended the session regarding an update on HB3 provided by Texas Education Agency Commissioner Mike Morath. Taking part in the discussions were superintendents from Allen, Anna, Celina, Community, Farmersville, Frisco, Lovejoy, Plano, Princeton, Prosper, Royse City and Wylie Independent School Districts. 

  • Jeff Adams, Superintendent Farmersville ISD
  • Philip Anthony, Superintendent Princeton ISD
  • Sara Bonser, Superintendent Plano ISD
  • Michael Comeaux, Superintendent Anna ISD
  • Rick DeMasters, Superintendent Celina ISD
  • Dr. Mike Goddard, Superintendent Lovejoy ISD
  • Dr. Scott Niven, Superintendent Allen ISD
  • Dr. Roosevelt Nivens Superintendent Community ISD
  • Dr. David Vinson, Superintendent Wylie ISD
  • Dr. MikeWaldrip,Superintendent Frisco ISD
  • Dr. Drew Watkins, Superintendent Prosper ISD
  • Kevin Worthy, Superintendent Royse City ISD

HB3 Session at Sockwell group of attendees

Allen ISD Superintendent Dr. Scott Niven; State Board of Education District 12 Pam Little; State Representative District 70 Scott Sanford; State Representative District 66 Matt Shaheen; Plano ISD Board Vice President Angela Powell; Plano ISD Board President Tammy Richards; TEA Commissioner Mike Morath; Plano ISD Superintendent Sara Bonser; State Representative District 67 Jeff Leach; State Representative District 89 Candy Noble; Plano ISD Trustee David Stolle; Plano ISD Chief Operating Officer Dr. Theresa Williams.

Plano ISD Board President Tammy Richards, Board Vice President Angela Powell and Trustee David Stolle as well as Plano ISD COO Dr. Theresa Williams attended the session. Local state senators and representatives and Pam Little, State Board of Education District 12, were invited to attend.

  • Pat Fallon, Texas State Senator, District 30
  • Justin Holland, Texas State Representative, District 33
  • Jeff Leach, Texas State Representative, District 67
  • Candy Noble, Texas State Representative, District 89
  • Angela Paxton, Texas State Senator, District 8
  • Scott Sanford, Texas State Representative, District 70
  • Matt Shaheen, Texas State Representative, District 66