Special Education, Board Advisory Committee

  • The committee shall consist of no less than 15 members. Members shall serve three-year terms with one-third of the membership appointed each year. Ten members of the committee shall be comprised of parents who have children currently supported by special education services and at least one staff member from each of the major disability areas supported by the district. 


    The special education advisory committee shall advise the school board concerning services provided to students identified as having special needs. The school board or superintendent may direct the committee to study and make recommendations on specific issues. 

    2020-21 Goal

    • Design opportunities for families to increase engagement in the school process by providing:

      • Enhanced opportunities for parents to learn

      • Family support and care


    • Monday, September 28, 2020
    • Monday, November 30, 2020
    • Monday, February 22, 2021
    • Monday, April 5, 2021

    Virtual meetings will be held from 5:15 - 6:45 p.m.

Special Education Advisory Committee Members

  • 2019-20 Committee Members / *Plano ISD staff

  • Jeanine Alpert

    Carolyn Arlington

    Brenda Aviles

    Cyndi Banish

    Teresa Bronsky

    Janna Crow* (staff liaison)

    Shelley Crowder*

  • Laura Dizien

    Lynn Ellis

    Khalid Ishaq

    Morgan Keegan

    Julie Holmes McKinley

    Nyria Melchor

  • Bethany Rogers*

    Glenn Roque-Jackson

    Charmaine Solomon

    Byron Williams

    Robin Williams

    Agnes Yam