Return to Headlines

Plano ISD UIL High School One-Act Play Results

November 11, 2022

The Plano ISD High School One Act Play competition was held at Plano East Senior High School on Friday, November 11, 2022. Seven Plano ISD high school programs competed in the University Interscholastic League (UIL) theatre competition, abiding by the league's rules for One Act Plays.

Adjudicated by a panel of judges certified by TTAO, the competition culminates in a festival of plays critiqued by trained judges who deliver oral and written criticism to the participants.

Plano ISD teachers challenged their students with great literature and opportunities to perform. The Plano ISD Fine Arts Department is proud of the artistic endeavors of the students and staff. With a focus on advanced performance, technical skills, constructive criticism and great theatre practice, the November 11 competition results included the top three winning performances:

1st Place: Shepton High School 

The Old Man and the Old Moon by PigPen Theatre Co.

Directed by Carmen McElwain & Mallory Chance

Shepton HS theatre team

Shepton HS theatre

2nd Place: Williams High School 

These Shining Lives by Melanie Marnich

Directed by Kelli Sutton

Williams HS theatre team

Williams HS theatre

3rd Place: Vines High School

Epic Proportions by Larry Coen & David Crane

Directed by Bri Wehman

Vines HS theatre team

(back row) Aaron Chaput, Robby Coppedge, Travis Wolfe, Connor King, Madeline Olivieri, Heidi Myers, Coda McCardel, Reagan Huffstutler, Zach Hutton
(middle row) Andrew Ladishew, William Adams, Reese Bailey, Jesreel Chrisniah Garciano, Evelyn Traynor, Isabel Bonilla  
(front row) Chase Ramos, Liv Anderson, Ms. Bri Wehman, Whitley Taylor, Mikayla Bigelow, James Watkins, Skye Urech 

Congratulations to all One Act Play participants. Individual awards, selected by the acting judge (acting) and stage manager (tech), were awarded to the following participants:

Outstanding Technician:

Sophia Papaleo, Clark High School

Kyle Ledoux, McMillen High School

Haley Shephard, Shepton High School

Charlotte Besset, IB World School at Plano East

Maria Pavao, Jasper High School

Andres Bedolla, Williams High School

Skye Urech, Vines High School

Best Technical Crew:

Maria Pavao, Jasper High School

Shivani Sen, Jasper High School

Gabrielle Torregoza-Marasigan, Jasper High School

McKenzie Bauman, Jasper High School

Athena Brewer, Jasper High School

Daniella Rashdi, Jasper High School

Eshita Singh, Jasper High School

All-Star Cast:

Travis Wolfe, Vines High School

Claire Cockrell, Jasper High School

Ayan Mishra, IB World School at Plano East

Emma Rogers, Clark High School

Marla Simmons, IB World School at Plano East

Gina Phan, McMillen High School

Andersen Yanelli, Williams High School

Will Blaine, McMillen High School 

Honorable Mention All-Star Cast:

Carson Smith, Clark High School

Brendon Weber, Shepton High School

Rehaana Mariam, Jasper High School

Henry Pittman, IB World School at Plano East

Matthew Goudy, Williams High School

Connor King, Vines High School

Charlotte Schneider, Clark High School

Ensemble of Nicole Lee, Miku Coulston, Landry Sims, Ava Mayes, Memori Keith, Shepton High School

Best Performers:

Shiloh Wilson, Shepton High School

Reagan Huffstutler, Vines High School